Home
Posted By: Blitz reforming 25-35 to HP 22 - 03/24/20
So, on the recommendation of some savvy souls here, I got a bunch of new 25-35 brass, ran a couple through my resizer die and ended up with the attached. I'm a little concerned with what appears to be a "ring" at the top of the shoulder. Being a "newbie" I figured you wizened savage mentors could offer your opinion as to continue and use them, or do I have a problem here? The case seems to chamber fine as is in the rifle, but as I said, being a NEWBIE I am not sure of what I'm seeing. Running a S&B 5.62 x 52R case after bullet pull didn't produce said effect. Opinions?

Thanks!

Blitz

Attached picture 25-35 SM.jpg
Looks fine. That will go away after firing.
Posted By: gnoahhh Re: reforming 25-35 to HP 22 - 03/24/20
What he said. 'Tis perfectly normal because the .25-35 shoulder region is smaller than the .22 HP and can't be opened out in a sizing die.

Hint: now is the time to adjust the die to give good headspace for the cartridge's initial firing. Set up the die so that small secondary shoulder is far enough forward so as to make the bolt a little tiny bit stiff to close on it. What that does is simply making the cartridge headspace on the shoulder (the small secondary shoulder you're creating) instead of the rim. The benefit to that is it minimizes the case stretching upon firing and may well help promote better case life.
Posted By: JeffG Re: reforming 25-35 to HP 22 - 03/25/20
yeah, what they said, "that's normal, it will go away on the first firing". Make sure it will chamber, you might need to push it even further. Check your overall brass length after resizing, and after each firing. Keep your case length tight and consistent for best brass life.

I have discovered that moving brass around into new shapes often squeezes the extra brass up into the neck length. After you have needed to trim the brass length more than twice, your risk of case head separation goes way up, toss it.