Home
I am a 30-06 veteran that shot my first deer with a .243 this evening. Handload with Sierra Gameking 85 grain BTHP.
Blood and lung all over the place, waist high.....No deer??
I know the .243 kills deer, but do they normally run farther when hit with a .243 vs. a larger caliber? Just wanted to know some other experiences with this, thanks.
Lung with no deer? Hmmph. He's there somewhere!
Posted By: T_Inman Re: deer with a .243 vs. 30-06 - 12/04/10
Originally Posted by buckhorn1916
do they normally run farther when hit with a .243 vs. a larger caliber? Just wanted to know some other experiences with this, thanks.

No, they don't; especially with a lung hit. That deer is dead somewhere very close by.
It is cutover, really thick and grown up, shot about 20 min. before dark, will go back early in the am and look some more.
May have almost stepped on the deer with it being dark. Thanks.
Any opinions on whether to use 85 gr, 100 gr, 105 gr.??
85 grain TSX.
Posted By: Rug3 Re: deer with a .243 vs. 30-06 - 12/04/10
Waist high lung and blood? Now that's a really tall deer. You have a dead deer within 50 yards.

One of the most necessary activities in hunting is tracking. I'm not much of an expert on the .243. I have only shot 9 deer with one. All 100gr. Sierra and all one shot kills. If I were hunting with it today I would use the Barns 80gr TTSX, or Barns 85gr TSX.

They didn't run any farther then they run when I put a 12 gauge shotgun slug through them and that is a larger caliber.

My friend, if you have blown lung tissue out of that deer you have a dead deer. I hope you find it. There should be an adequate blood trail unless it made only one or two jumps.
Best to you.

Jim

That's my experience, yours may differ.
I'm sure that I'll catch grief on this, but yes in my experience deer taken by heart/lung shot with the 6mms run further. I'm sure others will have different experience & opinions but that is my experience.