Home
Posted By: lastround Handloading for an AR - 06/10/20
I’ve been reloading for close to 40 yrs. and loading for numerous 223’s over the years. But none were semi-autos or AR’s. Weelll, I just got an AR. I understand that the basics are the same, but my question concerns crimping. I’ve talked to a couple of folks who reload for AR’s......one says he never crimps but maintains a tight bullet to neck fit. The other uses bullets that allow him to roll crimp into the cannelure. I thought maybe some of you guys might have some insite as to how I should approach crimping. Roll crimp, taper crimp, or no crimp? I also bought a few PMags which all seem to measure 2.25 inside max so how short is my max OAL to feed well in plastic magazines? Thanks in advance for your help.
Posted By: NVhntr Re: Handloading for an AR - 06/10/20
No crimp.
2.25, or 2.255 oal. If you use metal ASC mags you can go to 2.3"
Originally Posted by lastround
I’ve been reloading for close to 40 yrs. and loading for numerous 223’s over the years. But none were semi-autos or AR’s. Weelll, I just got an AR. I understand that the basics are the same, but my question concerns crimping. I’ve talked to a couple of folks who reload for AR’s......one says he never crimps but maintains a tight bullet to neck fit. The other uses bullets that allow him to roll crimp into the cannelure. I thought maybe some of you guys might have some insite as to how I should approach crimping. Roll crimp, taper crimp, or no crimp? I also bought a few PMags which all seem to measure 2.25 inside max so how short is my max OAL to feed well in plastic magazines? Thanks in advance for you help.

I set my seater to put a slight crimp on the bullet. That also helps with reducing TIR. Something a lot of guys don't understand. A Pmag is generally 2.260" on the inside. So most of us run our OAL to somewhere around 2.250-2.255" to allow for reliable feeding and loading of the mags.
Originally Posted by NVhntr
No crimp.

Same here.