Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire 'Bwana
Online Content
Campfire 'Bwana
I have been using a G15 for several years and it has been great.

Just don't use it out in the rain for very long because it is a royal bitch to disassemble and dry out.

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by Matt in Virginia
Originally Posted by RDFinn
Best thing you can do Matt regarding cameras is after you buy one, never read another thing about cameras ever again. Well till it breaks anyway. Every 3 months, 50 new models come out and they are all vastly superior to the previous.

Yes Sir, I can see hard won wisdom in that recommendation...(laughing and planning to heed that advice)

Actually own a book titled The Paradox of Choice that kind of sums up how having unlimited choices is really not all that we think it is.. Turns out to be a hell of a chore in the end...imho & fwiw.

Regards, Matt Garrett

[video:youtube]https://www.ted.com/talks/barry_schwartz_on_the_paradox_of_choice?language=en[/video]

Pretty interesting stuff and how you can make a living watching guys argue about riles....

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Matt, the Canon G12-G16's are just not in the same league as the Sony RX100 I-IV's, decent though they may be.

The Canon G12-16s have a substantially smaller sensor (1/1.7) than the Sony RX's 1-inch sensor, as well as fewer MP's. Sensor size is one critical component that separates the bulk of P&S's from larger Micro 4/3 and DSLR cameras. Sensor size, MP's, lens quality... all go to image quality.

The unique beauty of the Sony, apart from its outstanding Zeiss lens and substantial MP's, is its large 1-inch sensor. The only compact P&S Canon makes that competes with it is the PowerShot G7X, but I prefer the Sony. And yes, the Sony's video is outstanding.

Here's the place to start that investigation...

https://www.google.com/search?q=powershot+g7x+vs+sony+rx100&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8

Sensor sizes for comparison: