-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
A
OP Offline
A
I'm new to elk hunting. My hunting partner and I are planning on making our first hunt at Unit 54 in Colorado during 2nd Rifle Season 2016. Looks like we can put in for Cow tags during the draw. But, if we don't get drawn, we can buy OTC Either Sex tags. I understand we may not have a good chance of getting drawn our first year. But, it looks like we'll be able to buy the OTC Either Sex tags online as long as we're ready to buy online right at the opening bell. Are their any flaws to this plan? Maybe we're not quite understanding the rules. If not, please clear it up for me. Thanks.

GB1

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
Generally you are correct. However,that cow tag that you draw is a "B" tag, which means that if you draw, you can still buy the OTC Either Sex tag which is an "A" tag. This could give you two elk tags.

And yes ,you must be on the computer to buy one of those OTC tags w/cap the first day they go on sale as they get sold out by afternoon.

Looking at the 2015 Preference points issue of Colorado Outdoors Magazine, there were 126 applicants for 170 cow tags, 2nd rifle. Which means everyone got a tag

After this years seasons,I talked to the local CPW officer for that unit.

CPW is contemplating not issuing those OTC Either Sex Tags for 2016 as they feel they have the elk herd down to herd size objectives. Therefore,you might see significant changes in tag allotments and those OTC tags might not be available.