Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#10954446 02/13/16
C_ROY Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I hunted the troublesome back in 2007 with Samuelson's on a drop camp muzzleloader hunt. My pard killed a 4x4 and I had opportunities including a close encounter with a herd bull but the hunting god's were not smiling on me that hunt but it was a great experience and awesome hunt. I was thinking of going back this fall for a 1st rifle hunt.

Any update on what that units like today.

PASS IT ON!
GB1

C
C
I've been hunting the Troublesome since 2009.
We hunt west of where Samuelson packs into.
We have been hunting 4th Season since 2011 taking turns with who gets a buck tag and the others hunting elk.
We have had great success with Bucks and So So with the elk.
We usually get 2 elk for 5 hunters on average, nothing big, just small 4's & 5's.
I personally have taken a 330 & 307 Bull when we hunted Archery.
There are some Big Bulls that migrate out of that country.
Last Year I had the buck tag and shot 180ish buck, but we must have seen 300 - 400 elk and no one shot any, snow was up to our waists and no one really could get around to get them. we all could've taken cows, but everyone was holding out for a Bull. I personally passed on 3 raghorns as i was focused on deer.

Hope that helps

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
There are still elk in that unit. But double if not triple the number of hunters you saw in 2007. Archery has exploded. Tons and tons of over the counter tags (unlimited actually), plus perfect combination (less than 2 hours from denver) of distance and easy access.

Archery and muzzleloader season in 18,181 is full, full of hunters. Lots of pressure. Animals quickly migrate to private land. If you can hunt on private land- then I'd say go for it- otherwise skip it entirely.