Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
J
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
Hey everyone! I'm just getting into reloading and was wondering if anyone had a pet .338 Winchester load they'd share? I understand I need to consult the reloading manuals- but I'd like a start. I was thinking I'd like to shoot 225-grain Accubonds, but I'm open to other bullets, as well. I'll be using the load for elk and moose- the rifle is a Kimber 8400 Montana.

Heal quickly and don't scar.
GB1

D
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
Justin-- I'm in the same boat; new .338wm, with brass and powder, I've decided to try 210gr TTSX and 250gr Nosler Partitions I have RL19 and 22 available. Looking forward to following this and seeing what guys have to say!

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
I have used R-19 with 225gr bullets with good results. R-22 and the 250s have also shot very well.

A
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
A
Put 71.5gr of H4350 behind those accubonds along with a WMRP and Win Bras.

With the 200's 75gr of H4350, or 78gr of H4831.

All shoot well and leave big holes in Elk.

You didn't use logic or reason to get into this opinion, I cannot use logic or reason to get you out of it.

You cannot over estimate the unimportance of nearly everything. John Maxwell
J
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
J
Duckhunter,

Have you had the opportunity to try those loads, yet? Those were also bullets I had considered trying, but the Accubonds seemed to be a good in between bullet, so I'm hoping to try them out this year on game!

Antelope_Sniper

I'm brand new to reloading (I have a friend that is showing me the ropes), but what's the reason to use more of the same powder for a lighter bullet? I've loaded hundreds of thousands of shotgun shells, but only 20 rifle shells- not criticizing, just looking for the reasoning because I really want to learn.

Thanks so far, guys- I really appreciate the info!

Heal quickly and don't scar.
IC B2

G
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G