Print Thread
Hop To
S
Sillyak Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
S
This is my first attempt at doing a detailed review of anything. Please tell me what you think!

Cabela’s Euro HD/Meopta Meostar 10x42mm HD Review

Branding and price class:

There seems to be a little bit of trepidation buying a big box store branded optic, or other hunting related item. Usually they are of Chinese manufacture, mediocre quality, and are heavily marketed by the big box store due to higher profit margins on store branded merchandise. The reality, in the binocular world, is that almost every low-mid priced binocular is made by a handful of Asian manufacturers and companies simply stick their name on the item. Often, some optically identical binoculars can be found under several brand names. Items like the Nikon Monarch, Zeiss Terra and Vortex Viper ect. are not made by Zeiss or Nikon themselves, but by a Chinese manufacturer to Zeiss/Vortex/Nikon’s spec and badged under their name. Cabela’s did the same sort of thing with their Euro HD line of optics, but instead of going to China, they went to Meopta in the Czech Republic. In the case of the Euro HD 10x42mm, it is completely identical to the Meostar 10x42mm HD, save for badging and slight armour differences. Meopta does not rebadge Chinese manufactured products; but, like Zeiss, Nikon and Leica’s higher end lines, and all Swarovskis, they are made in house. Since the two versions are identical, this review can be considered valid for either model. Although both models retail for $1199.99 USD, the Cabela’s model has the advantage of going on sale for $150-$250 fairly often. This price range puts them in competition with the Zeiss Conquest HD ($999 USD), Leica Trinovid HD ($999 USD), Vortex Razor HD ($1199.99 USD). This level is generally regarded as pretty darn close to top tier “alpha” glass, while being about half the cost.

The binocular, strap and case:

[Linked Image]