Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Kahuna
OP Online Content
Campfire Kahuna
Ok, I'm a greenhorn here. The wife got me a winch for my UTV for Christmas. I have it installed but haven't used it yet. In fact, I've never used any winch before. Before I get myself in trouble, I have a question.

While pulling, how do you keep the line from jamming under other layers of line?

“In a time of deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.”
― George Orwell

It's not over when you lose. It's over when you quit.

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
Before you use it you need to spool it up under some weight, at least that's what I did with mine.

I pulled all but the last layer of rope off (I changed mine to synthetic winch rope) so that I have 6-7 winds left, hooked it to a tree, and used the winch to pull my truck to the tree from a distance. Then I simply kept it tight.

Not sure if this helps but it stayed pretty tight and I haven't had problems with it.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
If you wind it on the drum right, and do not allow any slack around the drum. The cable should follow the pattern you started. You will, have the occasional f-up. My experience with skidders and various tow trucks. Never used a small winch. When dealing with wenches, things always end all knotted up. grin

Parents who say they have good kids..Usually don't!
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Spotshooter has a valid tip. It probably did help.

Parents who say they have good kids..Usually don't!
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Make sure you wind evenly. I'm a relative newcomer to winches as well. I've only had one for 4 years on my pickup.

1) Always rewind your cable with a load on it. If I have someone with me, I have them walk the business end in under load and come straight at the truck. If I don't have anyone, I retract my cable using a log chain on the end to supply the tension.