Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
S
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
S
Originally Posted by shaman
Remember too that Juan got tossed out of NPR (which pays diddly-squat) and FOX hired him at a discount.

Tossed from NPR for being too conservative. Tells you where they're at.

"Civilized men are more discourteous than savages because they know they can be impolite without having their skulls split, as a general thing."
Robert E. Howard

Campfire Ranger
Online Content
Campfire Ranger
Originally Posted by shootinurse
Remember too that Juan got tossed out of NPR (which pays diddly-squat) and FOX hired him at a discount.

He got tossed from NPR for saying he felt uncomfortable with some ragheads on the same plane. That was un-PC, not conservative.

"Only Christ is the fullness of God's revelation."
Everyday Hunter
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
When I was a young rookie journalism student, I asked the question: "Why are most newspapers left of center?" In those days, you still thought of "The Media" as newspapers with electronic media as also-rans. My professor answered in this way:

1) Owners are usually Republicans, but they're in it to make money. The editorial staff mostly come from working class families. They're going to be Populist to Communist-- somewhere in that spectrum.
2) Nobody wants to hear about all the great things Crapsanto is doing for the world, but if Crapsanto kills 5 people in a chemical leak, that's news. News is always going to be anti-corporate.
3) Taking the angle of the little man vs. the big machine is always going to sell more papers, period.
4) People pay taxes. They don't like it. They vote in people that want to give the money back, only it never quite makes it there. Papers make a stink about it. They sell papers doing it. Wash, Rinse, Repeat.