Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
B
bja105 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
B
I am new to AR's, but not reloading. I have never had to remove a primer crimp. I won't be doing high volume. What tool do you recommend?
Can I chuck this in a cordless drill? Is it what I need?
https://www.midwayusa.com/product/501588/hornady-primer-pocket-reamer-tool-small

I have .223 dies from my bolt gun. Is that all I need? No small base?

How do I set up my die to work my brass enough, but not too much? Do I bottom out the die and plan on loosing the brass before I wear it out. On a bolt gun, I know how to test if I sized the brass enough, and if I have some jump to the rifling. How do I do that with this AR.

If it matters, this is a cheaper Palmetto State Armory upper with a .223 Wylde chamber.

Thanks
Jason

Jason
GB1

L
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
L
Get a case gauge. Size just enough so that a case goes in and out of the gauge without difficulty. Very doubtful small base dies are ever needed for an AR.

If you are not doing a huge volume of brass, the standard and inexpensive RCBS crimp removal tool works fine. It takes some trial and error adjustment. Once adjusted, set the lock ring and you needn't adjust it again. Many who bellyache about the RCBS tool never adjusted it properly and may have bent the punch. I think newer tools have a beefed up punch anyway.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
To use a reamer, or any tool with 8-32 threads in a drill, get this: https://www.midwayusa.com/product/314848/redding-primer-pocket-uniformer-tool-power-adapter

Reamers are also sold without the handle if you don't need it.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Hornady or RCBS reamer chucked into a drill with the above mentioned Redding adapter.
Bump shoulders back 3-4 thousandths when resizing.

Let's Go Brandon! FJB
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular