-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
I was wanting to put my fixed 4 power scope on my model 336 for bear hunting season. The rifle is tapped (has screwsin the holes).....what mount or base would I need? The scope is a Bushnell, if that matters.
Thanx...

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
This 444 has a Weaver one piece rail with Warne mounts. Works as good as any..........

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J

2muchgun is making a really good suggestion....for once.
I have a Marlin 336 with that mount/base setup and a 3x scope. Works very well indeed.

Sorry, 2much, I couldn't help myself,

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Okay, I see how it is..........grin

Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
Thanx guys, so all I'd do is undo the screws, put on the base rail, screw it on, put on the rings then add the scope? Is it that easy or am I missing anything. Newbie here, all the help is very usefull.

IC B2

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
There are a vast number of rings on the market that fit said rail. All install in a different manner. Make sure you degrease the insides of the rings before you mount the scope. Let us know what kind of rings you get, and I'm sure myself or numerous others would be happy to help.......

POP Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I use weaver rings and bases for quick removal and use of open sites. Works very well!

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W
I like the weaver bases as well although I prefer the looks of the 2 piece bases.

One other note. When removing the factory filler screws, apply some Kroil or other penetrating oil and use a scredriver that fits. It's very easy to screw up the small slotted head on the filler screws and end up with a stuck screw.

Weagle

[Linked Image]

J
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
J

+1 Weagle is correct.