Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
S
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
S
I have no experience with the TC Compass but of the Patriot and RAR. I have heard good things about the RAR a good friend had a Patriot that gave him fits. The RAR has some features that are long term proven performers and I have several friends that own one and they all seem pretty accurate with factory fodder.

Good luck and shoot straight y'all

GB1

M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Originally Posted by BEN243
A friend asked for my help in selecting a modestly priced deer rifle for his son, since he knows that I am a long time hunter and shooter. He decided that it's going to be either a Ruger American, a TC Compass or a Mossberg Patriot. Since I have no real experience with these rifles, I thought I pose the question to you guys out there that actually own one of these rifles and have used them. Which one would you choose and why ? TIA, Ben

Of the three brands you mention I've owned more Ruger Americans, probably around 10-12, and generally had very good luck. The early ones often needed some "adjustment" of the forend to be really free-floated, due to a relatively floppy stock, but that was improved several years ago. On the other hand, on recent rifles the trigger doesn't adjust to as light a pull as it used to, but that's a relatively quick and easy fix.

The Mossbergs have done well too, though I haven't shot as many as the RARs. Have only fooled with one T/C Compass and was not impressed, but have had good luck with T/C Ventures.

Have also had good luck with several Mauser M18s and Franchi Momentums.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
My grandson received a Ruger American 7-08 for his 16th birthday.