Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Markh Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
I know I'm firing a bunch of questions at once but any help would be great. I've been shooting a bow for about 2 yrs. Started with a compound and kinda got bored. bought a use recuve and can't put it down. I'm a long time reloader and love to tinker with ammo so it seemed natural to starting tinkering with arrows. Started with carbons and now I'm learning about wood. So I got some questions.

2 blade or 3? I bought some Magnus Snuffers 3 blade but not sure what is all aroung best for whitetail.

What is "footing" or "footed arrow"?

What is "reflex/deflex"

What is the difference between a "long bow","stick bow","flat bow"??

and last for this post:
I am thinking about buying a Martin Savahna long bow. I have shot this bow and think it is great. Good idea or no?

Thanks
Mark H

GB1

W
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
2 blade promotes penetration, 3 blade is more blades to sharpen and with greater difficulty.
Afooted shaft is a wooden shaft with a section of denser wood spliced in at the front. Supposed to make a tougher arrow and better forward balance. Pretty looking and spendy.
r/d is the direction the bow limbs take. All recurves are r/d, even when strung. The Savannah is an example of a r/d long bow: looks like a recurve unstrung, long bow when strung.
A true longbow is a D shape with a straight handle 62-72", stick bows are also called self bows, big hunk of wood cut to a sort of long bow but usually no fiberglass backing. Flat bows are short with wide limbs and abbreviated draw lengths, Indian style.

W
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
W
I have several Martin bows, including a Savannah, I think they are about as good as it gets for a non custom bow.

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R