Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
PSE Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
Just bought myself a Big Game tree stand (the Boss XL) and I tried it out (after assembly) on the tree in the front yard about 3 feet off the ground. It seems to work fine and would be comfortable to sit and stand in for an extended period. My question is: How high do you put the stand in the tree when hunting? Would 20 feet be high enough or would you go higher? I guess a lot of it would depend on where the upper foliage starts to thicken so you could be partially concealed. If how ever the tree goes up straight for 30 feet before branching would you go up that high? If these seem like newbie questions it's because they are as I've never used a tree stand before. Any tips would be appreciated. Thanks

GB1

S
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
S
Height doesn't matter as much as good background as to not silhouette yourself to a bright sky.

I've shot many deer from 10ft up, my normal ladder stand is 14 to 20 ft.

It's more important for the stand do be about 30 degrees OFF the line of site the deer will be looking if your in the open woods.

My best stand faces west where the deer come out of thicker cover and enter the open woods. They're headed east into the sun in the morning, my stand is between two runs and sits at a spot 25 yards from where they stop to watch the open woods to see if it's safe to walk out into it. BLAM!

Shot 3 deer out of it last year alone.

Spot

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Spotshooter is absolutely correct. Background cover is key. My biggest buck came off of a Loggy 10' ladder stand.

Another thing to consider when high is the change in impact of the arrow. The higher you go, the lower you have to aim. A trick is too not range find the trail or animal, but a tree level to the height you are at. It is not the distance you want to shoot down, but the horizontal distand to the target.

Does that make sense?