Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#1780127 11/04/07
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
A friend of mine has got his head set on getting a new 9.3x62 rifle. He asked my advice on which to get, Tikka or CZ. I have no experience with either so I thought some of you guys might have a preference and why.
BTW, he said both rifles feel the same and the price difference doesn't matter.
Thanks
-Rooster

GB1

V
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
V
CZ.

I have the 550FS in 9.3x62, and it's the catsazz.

GREAT trigger (fully adjustable, and set-capable). PLENTY accurate. CRF (always a plus).

Talley QRs fit beautifully.

Gonna swap the rear sight on this one for a Whitworth three-leaf express post season; mate with a NECG bead out front (ivory-ish). And, eventually gonna swap the safety for a three-position M70-style rig.

Other than that, I can't think of anything that I'd change.

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
For me, the CZ. No contest. I'll qualify that by saying there is nothing wrong with the Tikka for accuracy or dependability. I don't know anyone who owns a Tikka who does not like it, or has sold it because of some issue. My choice is purely based on aesthetic preference, nothing more or less.

I like the CZ's more traditional look and feel better. I like the action better. Your friend may feel entirely different. He should go with the one that feels more comfortable to him, because neither one will disappoint. If he truly believes they both feel the same, then I'd ask if they had scopes mounted when he handled them, because I suspect not. If he can't get that, or they still feel the same, then go with the CZ for the CRF, just for something to tip the balance.

Last edited by FLNative; 11/04/07.
M
mlg Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
Both good rifles but the CZ is much more likely to require some gunsmithing - like bedding, trigger work. If he wants a rifle that he can just mount a scope on & shoot, the T3 is very hard to beat.