-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
In 1968 when I turned 18, I registered for the draft.
Had lot's of returning vets telling us high schoolers, "Don’t go unless you just HAVE to!"
Before I graduated in 1969, I recieved an updated draft card rating me "1A" on June 1, 1969!
I immediately went to my local draft board and filed for a college deferment. It went through.
I enrolled in college in Sept 1969.
Didn't take me long to figure out I wasn't college material. The only class I passed was PE!
Fortunately, LBJ decided to institute the draft.
If not, they were fixing to snatched me up!
My draft lottery number was "324"!
LBJ claimed he would draft up to number 275.
No chance for me to be drafted, I dropped out of school and went back to work.
When the hostilities were over (?) in 1973, I had four years service, a pretty cushy job making really good money for a 22 year old at the time.
It was a "union" job!
Had I been drafted, my seniority would have continued.
If I volunteered for the military, they would have held my job, but I would have lost all previous seniority.
I couldn't see throwing that seniority away, so I didn't join after 'Nam.
Way too late in life, it dawned on me that I could have helped myself personally and developmentally had I just joined and tossed the seniority. But, alas!!!

Friend that graduated 2 years ahead of me, volunteered for combat in 'Nam three times. They kept him in Germany his entire enlistment.

Last edited by MartinStrummer; 09/28/23.

T
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
T
Hazing was not commonplace in my unit, harassment at RIP, Pre Ranger and Ranger School were abundant though!

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
...but I do have a funny story!!!
Right after my 18th birthday in 1968, I was the recipient of a free bus ride to Dallas to partake in a military sanctioned "Pre-induction" physical! 😃