-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
I guess I need to explain because I really don't understand how the government sees the gunsmithing industry/community,whatever. I guess...
Ok, I applied for an FFL with an 06 ammunition license. Well, the FFL part went well but he cancelled the ammunition production part of my FFL
and said that he would have the ATF issue me a $30 refund. He told me that there was a problem with the city I live in (there isn't,I already got the ok)
and he told me that they were going to have to come back out when I got clearance from the city. I called the and the story that the lady that runs the
department that handles that kind of stuff told me that she told the ATF agent that it was ok for me to manufacture ammunition where I'm at. Hell, all
I'm gonna do is load custom ammo because this is a pretty small place that balloons during deer season. I've been loading ammunition for over 40 years.
I have tuned loads, tightened screws, bedded, floated, you name it for all of my buddies and their friends for a long time so, this ain't a factory... I have a
shop with a lathe, mill, workbench, and loading setup on an old desk that my son found. Blueing tanks out back and a booth that I use to paint and cerakote.
Since I started this with the ATF, it seems like all they've done is stall. I had to resend my fingerprints because they couldn't find my thumbprints on the card.
English was NOT the lady's first language and I think that even though she was good natured and polite, she was actually stupid. I don't like to say that but
if the shoe fits. I sent then the exact same fingerprint card that I guess was processed but WTF over? I know the government hates everyone in the gun industry.
The agent that came to see me was a great guy. Smart and polite. Seemed to know his job well but he didn't answer any of my questions about compliance except