Hop To
S
Soup Offline OP
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
S
Folks,
I've seen some ads for Tikka rifles and noticed they have a model " T3x Lite Roughtech ". It's a .243 with a 1 in 8" twist barrel. I have a Ruger No.1 RSI .243 and it's perfect for deer hunting in PA but I'm looking for a bolt gun with the faster twist and want to know about these rifles. I've no knowledge at all.
If anyone has personal knowledge of them, I'd appreciate your feedback. Normal information: accuracy-trigger-is it adjustable or do you need an aftermarket - how's the stock. Something that isn't too heavy I can put night vision on or scope it and use with night light. My Pulsar Digex C50 is about 2 pounds. Too old for much weight anymore!!
Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.
Semper Fidelis
Soup

Down South 68-69

Last edited by Soup; 03/15/24.
HR IC

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
Soup, that is an excellent rifle. Very accurate, and lightweight. If you plan on using or swapping your thermal, buy a good rail for it, like the factory steel CTR rail, or a Mountain Tactical rail. Weight has been listed all over the place at 5 pounds, and 6.8 pounds. I'd expect it to weigh in around 6.2-6.5 pounds.

You ask about the trigger. Tikka's are well known for having very good triggers. Some guys buy an upgraded spring, but I've never had any issues getting the factory pull weight down to 2 pounds even. The Roughttech and Roughtech Ember are a step above the typical T3x, as they have a few extra features, like the fluted bolt body, and nice textured stock, that is tan, or an ember red color (Ember models).

The barrels are fluted, like the superlite, but a heavier contour. They are also threaded for a muzzle device. The 8 twist .243 would be a very nice rifle to have. I'm waiting for them to come out with a 6mm Creedmoor, but the fast twist .243 would be a fun one to play around with as well.

Originally Posted by raybass