Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
C
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
C
Somehow, years ago I came into a box of 165gr flatnose lead .308 bullets with gas checks that say they are "hard cast" with a rating of "18-20 bhn".

I know I've read somewhere that SOFT lead bullets are best for hunting, but I have no experience with these or any other pure lead bullet.

Would these bullets be good for deer at reasonable distances (under 200 yards) and approximately 30-30 velocities in my .303 Savage Model 1899?

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing -- Edmund Burke
GB1

F
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
F
In the worst case you will get a .308 entry hole and a .308 exit hole. Plenty to kill a deer IMO. I have it on good authority that any number of Roosevelt elk were killed in western Washington with .30-06 GI ball ammo during the depression. That said, 18-20 bhn are actually brittle...if you whack one with a hammer you will discover just how frangible they are.
Of the most concern to me if I had your rifle and was trying those hard bullets...would be the accuracy question. Hard bullets need to fit the throat...soft bullets give you a little wriggle room if they are not perfectly dimensioned for the throat.
All in all, given the fact good serviceable hunting bullets are available now for the most part, I'd recommend any other bullet over what you have.
If you'd like to pursue cast bullets, bless you...it's so easy and cheap to get started...why not jump in?
Help is here if you ask for it...more help than you ever wanted, LOL.

Well this is a fine pickle we're in, should'a listened to Joe McCarthy and George Orwell I guess.
H
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
H
Push them fast enough and they will spread out when they hit something

C
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
C
Originally Posted by Hogwild7
Push them fast enough and they will spread out when they hit something