Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by MontanaMarine
I thought the vids were a good demonstration of long range realities vs expectations for the vast majority of shooters.

I'm no expert by any means, but I've shot enough long range in the field, to grasp some realities.

A milk jug is a pretty small target, only about 6" wide by 8" tall if you ignore the spout area. At 500 yards, a 1 moa rifle shooting 5" groups at 500 yards, has very little room for any error in wind call, or an unstable position.

Anyhoo, sharing these vids here has brought out some good shooting discussion. Sure beats talking politics and other current events.

I think this Challenge will have some legs and be a good thing.

What was a bit amazing was how each of those guys could not accept they did not perform very well.

John Burns

I have all the sources.
They can't stop the signal.

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by JohnBurns
Originally Posted by MontanaMarine
I thought the vids were a good demonstration of long range realities vs expectations for the vast majority of shooters.

I'm no expert by any means, but I've shot enough long range in the field, to grasp some realities.

A milk jug is a pretty small target, only about 6" wide by 8" tall if you ignore the spout area. At 500 yards, a 1 moa rifle shooting 5" groups at 500 yards, has very little room for any error in wind call, or an unstable position.

Anyhoo, sharing these vids here has brought out some good shooting discussion. Sure beats talking politics and other current events.

I think this Challenge will have some legs and be a good thing.

What was a bit amazing was how each of those guys could not accept they did not perform very well.
are you seeing a lot of poi shift depending on shooting posisition? Say you site in off the bench. Then shoot off a bipod prone?

M
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger