Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
M
I am going to buy either the 452 or 453. Is the single set trigger on the 453 worth the extra $100 - $130. I have no experience with a single set trigger but it seems interesting. Thanks for the input.

GB1

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Not To Me,And I've owned Several. The Best way I've found is the 452 with a Brooks Kit{$10.00}.

D
Dew Offline
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
D
I tried the Brooks kit and it didn't do the trick for me. I just had my gunsmith polish the contact points and I got as good a trigger as a man could want. Still, I shoot the 452 of which I have 3 and two are left handed. If the LH version offered the single set I would buy one AFTER I got a couple of free "snaps" at my gun dealer and it could be beat the triggers I have now.

Looking for a new GPS for 2010?
Try the Bible.
V
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
V
I'll take the 452.................547.

R
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
R
I just bought a 453...

You can "snap" the set trigger as much as you like by merely pushing the regular trigger FORWARD to "set" the set-trigger, but leaving the bolt closed so that you don't "load" the firing pin spring thus causing a normal "firing" of the trigger system.

Since setting the set trigger doesn't "load" the firing pin spring, this makes "dry firing" a 453 using the set-trigger a non-dangerous (won't break or damage the firing pin) "snap" (Opppppsss. 'xcuse the pun, pleeze). smile

I haven't had time to do any shooting with the 453 yet... but there's quite a "difference" in the amount of "pull" required to fire the rifle with the "regular" trigger vs. the set trigger.

I asked a world-class rifle champion which model to buy... the 452 or the 453. Without hesitation, he said, "The 453 is the ticket!".

'Nuff said... I bought the 453. smile

Strength & Honor...

Ron T.

It's smart to hang around old guys 'cause they know lotsa stuff...

IC B2