Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
I have only seen one deer shot with a 220 corelockt out of a 06. The crazy thing was the deer was shot broadside through the ribs and the bullet did not pass through, but was found under the hide on the far side. The mushroom was huge and looked like it was out of a advertisement.

HR IC

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
"I have just purchased a couple hundred 250 gr. RN Horndaddys for the 35 whelen. I have never used RN bullets before and I am anxious to try them."

cow, I think those bullets were made for that cartridge, should do great!

They are a little bit tough for my .35/336 rig but if I can't get some RNCL bullets I use the Hornadys. So, my deer run another ten steps before they drop, I don't much care.

Last edited by boomtube; 10/12/08.
C
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
C
I shot lengthwise through an 80 pound whitetail doe a couple of years back with a 154 grain Hornady RN out of a 7mm08. She ran about 40 yards and piled up. It would be my one and only experience with a RN bullet. I loaded up a few for my wife's .243 last year, but it ended up liking a 95 grain partition load that I had a partial box of, better, so she used them.

They are safer to use in a tube magazine, and they stabilize in some barrels that a spitzer bullet won't. Other than that, I am not sure that there is an advantage to them.

"The number one problem with America is, a whole lot of people need shot, and nobody is shooting them."
-Master Chief Hershel Davis

D
DSC Offline
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
"A drunkards dream if I ever did see one."

Up On Cripple Creek... Jesse Winchester?

Davis Chase
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker