Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Mac84 Offline OP
Campfire Ranger
OP Offline
Campfire Ranger
Which way to roll? Need something for my AR, close up and personal stuff.

"I Birn Quhil I Se" MacLeod of Lewis
I Burn While I See
Hold Fast MacLeod of Harris
GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
I only own, and have ever used, an Eotech, and it's not as if I'm a soldier or ever used it for shooting at people or anything.

I like my Eotech a lot. It's rugged, has a wide field of view, it's economical, it secures firmly yet comes on and off with little hassle and no loss of zero, and it gets long battery life from common low cost batteries. They now offer a 3x magnifier if one is so inclined.

Last edited by Ivan; 12/17/08.

"Pick up a rifle and you change instantly from a subject to a citizen." - Jeff Cooper
D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
Both are good quality and good design. Personally, I like the Aimpoint better myself. I can't like the reticles in the EOTECs for some reason. My son-in-law has one that keeps gobbling batteries. They look crude to me but they are very robust and do what they are supposed to.

NRA Benefactor Member

Those who live by the sword get shot by those who don't.

J
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
J
Battery life is significantly greater on the Aimpoint, so much so it really isn't a comparison. I have an EOTech on my 9mm AR, and an Aimpoint on one of my M4's. The EOTech is a decent optic, but I prefer the Aimpoint. I don't care for the position of the controls on the EOTech, but I understand the newer models may have them on the side. Also, if you have even a hint of an astigmatism, you will hate the EOTech reticle.

You can actually get 3x magnifiers for either optic. In fact, I bought a knock-off 3x that works just as well for either optic.

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
The EOTech is not nearly as reliable as the Aimpoint. Reference the recent recall of SOCOM optics, and known tracking issues.