C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C
Why can't you adjust the trigger?

HR IC

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Never heard of this problem before, and I've been using and abusing 700's for 25 years now. Some folks have all the luck...

B
B
Originally Posted by cwh2
Why can't you adjust the trigger?

Well, you can. But Remington fights you pretty hard on it.

I've done it in the past on the pre-06 triggers and have always had to break that sealant their lawyers have them put on there. The problem with the X-Mark trigger is that now they are using some new sealant that's virtually impossible to get off. From what I've heard you have to take a blow torch to it. (As if taking a blow torch to my new rifle is something I feel like doing.) Apparently solvents won't do it.

I tried loosening up the sear engagement screw and managed to break off my allen wrench inside of it. Loosening the trigger pull weight screw had zero effect according to my Lyman trigger scale. So, in effect, Remington seems to have made this a non-adjustable trigger.

Ben

C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C
I've only played with one. They seem very determined to keep you out of the sear engagement screw, but we made a huge improvement with the pull weight screw alone.

Not as nice as it could be, but certainly better.

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Originally Posted by keith
They come off because the guy is beating on them with a hammer or 2x4 trying to chamber a round that was loaded for another rifle's chamber.

Stupid is as stupid does.

If you would actually read the posts in this and similar threads, you would find that in many cases no beating or other rough treatment is involved. Makes your post sound kind of stupid.

But, as you say, "Stupid is as stupid does."

Coyote Hunter - NRA Patriot Life, NRA Whittington Center Life, GOA, DAD - and I VOTE!

No, I'm not a Ruger bigot - just an unabashed fan of their revolvers, M77's and #1's.

A good .30-06 is a 99% solution.
IC B2

B
B