grin

those are the ones I was think of. smile

Camp is where you make it.
GB1

C
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
C
I've been running a bunch in northern MN for a few years, here are my thoughts . . .

-you'll have a difficult time keeping them running this time of year, the cold will eat the batteries in no time.

-I run Moultries and I get 90+ days in the fall with the regular d-cells

-always position them looking up or down a trail, never at a 90 degree angle. Slow shutter speed is to blame for this and if you try and capture the broadside pose you'll get a lot of blank photos as deer rarely pose for the camera.

-I mount mine about 6-8' in the air on a tree mounted on a swivel bracket angled down on the trail. The reason being is that bears will eat the cameras like candy if you keep them 3 ft off the ground. Believe me bears will chew them up!

-Get a big memory card (2gig) and you can let the camera sit for weeks at a time.

-I use a a product like "deer cain" to attract the deer to my spots where cameras are, they don't eat much of it but it keeps them coming around. I don't hunt these spots but it does tell me if I have mature deer in the area.

Good luck, it's very addicting!

N
Campfire 'Bwana
OP Offline
Campfire 'Bwana
N
I was thinking the same about the batteries. it is a lot of batteries for what it is, digital cameras run off a pair of double A's & these things have an elgrande pack of C or D cells. But still, cold weather will kill the batteries.

I was worried about that, but i'll put it out anyways, I'm just dieing to get some pictures.

Something clever here.

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B
a couple of things I learned the hard way...cuz I didnt read the dadgum directions.

as stated, dont point it toward the sun.

Dont point it where a branch or sea of grass gets waving in the wind or you will have 592 pictures of waving grass.

mine doesnt shoot that far, you have to be close to get good shots.