-->
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I bought a Shilen .270 barrel blank a few years ago and finally got around to threading and contouring. It's for an Enfield and I've already got the cone cut, and everything looks good so far. This is a chrome-moly barrel, and hasn't been chambered or crowned yet. I'm wondering if I should lap it before I go any further. Shilen does lap some of their barrels but it hasn't been done to this one. I know it has to be done before it's chambered and crowned if I'm going to do it. I don't want to change dimensions or round off any corners; just polish it a little. I thought I'd just give it a few passes with 600 grit lapping compound. I've never done this before but I think I know how it's done. I think I would cast a lead slug in the breech end of the barrel by plugging the barrel an inch and a half or so in with a wood plug wrapped in a cleaning patch, and then preheat a little before pouring in the lead. Then I'd push it out the muzzle till I could remove the plug and the lead slug came out a half inch or so. Then I would score it lightly with my knife and apply the compound. I'd push it back and forth till it just protruded out the ends never letting it come all the way out. After a dozen or so trips I'd call it finished and clean up the mess.

So my questions are: Is it worth the effort or should I just chamber it like it is? Do I have the right idea as far as technique goes? What should I change about my plan? I'd appreciate any help I can get.

GB1

G
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
G
I would chamber it as it is. I prefer to lap after chambering but before crowning. I cast the lap at the muzzle end and.push it right out. I charge the lap then run it up and down about ten strokes, index one groove, then repeat until I have gone right around. If there is a spot that seems tight, I'll work at that area until it feels uniform.