Page 1 of 2 1 2
A
aceman Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
A
Though I've been shooting for over 30 years, I find my mid-life
years full of more learning and curiosity for information.
So one of the topics is S.D. vs. caliber size and weight.
More specifically, I shoot 30-06 and have compared the S.D,
of the 165 and 180 gr. to smaller calibers like 25 cal, 6.5, 270, and 7mm. which in most cases have higher density than the
bigger and heavier 30-06.
With medium game it's not as big a deal, but lets consider
elk and moose size hunting. Am I going to see better killing
potential with say a 270 150gr. or 280 160gr. having S.D.s
of .279 and .283, or the slightly wider and heavier 165 or 180gr. 30-06 with S.D.s of only .248 and .271?
And the other interesting fact is all of these caliber's have
very similar ftlbs of energy at 100-200 yds, so about the same
"hitting power", but differing weights and densities.

Hoping this makes an interesting and informative post.

Aceman.

GB1

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
Use a TSX and it won't matter which you use grin

SD usually implies a higher BC, meaning better exterior ballistics at long-range, but the most important thing that comes from a high SD is straight and deep penetration. The bullet can expand further back on the shank before it becomes a "pancake".

A
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
A
Sectional Density (SD) boils down to the length and weight of the bullet in relation to expansion of the bullet during penetration. The longer and heavier the bullet the more time it has for expansion and the slower it expands the more penetration you get because your pushing a smaller surface, thus you get more penetration as it expands slower..The cross section of the expanding bullet slows the bullet down and stops penetration therefore the slower it expands the more penetration you get..