Hop To
L
LMH777 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
Greetings!

I have a desire to get involved in this CAS game. I purchased two 94 saddle ring carbine's in 44 mag.. As i understand serviceable but not the best choice.

What do i need from a hand gun/rigging stand point to get in the game? don't expect to be competitive but want to learn for now. competitiveness can come later.. Suggestions from those of you who have been there and done that?

thanks

GB1

Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
Hi,

This my first post on the campfire. Just learned of the site a couple of days ago.

To give you some knowledge that I have some background in the game. I am a SASS Regulator and badge number 5323. Been a Territorial Governor and more.

I always recommend Ruger Vaquero's in 38/357. A older used SxS shotgun that is slick from use and has smooth chambers so the hulls slip out after firing. The best reasonable rifle is a Marlin in 38/357. Big 5 runs a special often on this rifle if you have a store nearby.

As for holsters I would buy any less expensive two strong side (no crossdraw) holster and belt. The holsters that will hold their shape for re-holstering. The only other non-clothing item you will need is something to hold shotgun shells, a belt or slide. A shotgun belt is the best idea. It needs to let you easily remove shotgun shells.

There are lots of people including me who use highly modified Winchester 73's for rifles If you want to spend over double the price of a Marlin to get started you can do that also.

Here is a great source for hardware if you want to go this route. Both these guys are friends of mine and well respected not just by me.

http://www.pioneergunworks.com/

http://www.longhunt.com/

I would strongly you go to some matches as a spectator. Ask lots of questions. Best Wishes to you, It is a fun game.

L
LMH777 Offline OP
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L