Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I've been shooting and hunting for 35 years, but I finally aquired one of my "dream" guns a couple of months ago. I don't have a need for one, but have always wanted an "African" big bore rifle. I bought a Ruger #1 in .375 Ruger, and shot it for the first time last weekend. The rifle shoots well with the factory iron sights, and I'm not going to scope it. And just as I thought, it is FUN!!!!! My question is, what is a good routine to use at the range for practice.? How many rounds do you shoot per session? I shot 12, and my shoulder is still a bit sore. I've been hog hunting with a Marlin .45/70 Guide Gun for years, but the .375 takes the recoil to a whole new level for me. I don't want to develope any bad habits, so I thought I would seek the advise of people with experience with big bores. I'm shooting from a a Stoney Point Polecat tripod. I didn't buy any factory ammo, just went straight to reloading components. The load is 70 grains of RL15 under 300 grain Hornady RN Interlocks for about 2500 fps. I'd like to stay with the 300's, and according to the loading info I have, I could go up or down a bit with the powder charge. Is this close to the Hornday factory load ballistics? I'd appreciate any advise. Thanks.

P.S. - I very much enjoy reaading this forum. It fuels my fantasies about Africa! laugh laugh
Steve

Last edited by daddywpb; 04/11/10.

"Feel the heart of the hunter. Feel the thrill that will cleanse the soul."
GB1

Campfire Oracle
Online Content
Campfire Oracle
Now that you have the rifle..you need to go to Africa! grin

Everyone tastes differ on practice, but I always liked to shoot my .375 from offhand, though practicing off sticks is entirely pragmatic..As for number of rounds, that will also vary with your tastes..I was shooting a .375H&H and it was in a bit heavier rifle, so recoil was