Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
D
Has anyone had good luck with remington brass for the 300 weatherby mag?Ive read some really negative reviews on the rem stuff on midwayusa.com.It seems like the best stuff is remington and norma.Is this all the good quality brass available for the 300weatherby?

"If men were angels, no government would be necessary. If angels were to govern men, neither external nor internal controls on government would be necessary."--James Madison
HR IC

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I have gotten decent accuracy from the Remington brass - 3/4 inch at 100 yards with 180 gr Partitions. That brass does seem to require less powder, though.

�That rifle on the wall of the labourer's cottage or working class flat is the symbol of democracy. It is our job to see that it stays there.� George Orwell
M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
The Remington .300 Weatherby brass that I have been using for the last four years has given me OK groups, but in the older MK V's made in West Germany with the 1 turn in 12" you will find that the edge will go to the Weatherby marked Norma brass or the Norma marked brass. I have tried both nickled and standard brass in the Remington brand, I can not give you a recommendation of one over the other. The nickle plated brass sure looks cool! In my American made AccuMark the Remington brass should do fine for you. I broke-in my .300 Weatherby AccuMark last year with standard Rem brass with Rem bronze points and in the process developed a couple of loads that would all shoot into the same hole at 100 yards and 3/4 to 1" at 200 yards. One group at 200 was 1/2 inch, but I have only been able to duplicate that twice. I have both of my .300 Weatherbys scoped with 6.5 to 20 power scopes. This past Thursday afternoon I shot the old MK V in .300 Wby and a new AccuMark in .30/378 Wby and the old MK, which was manufactured in 1961, using some Wby brass that was manufactured in 8/54 shot 5