Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
N
I just bought a couple of the Orvis Promo Fly packs (heckuva bargain smile ) that are advertised on a banner here and am wondering if anyone has experience with these or similar patterns and could give some suggestions for any/all the patterns. I'm new to fly fishing and figured they'd be good practice flys at a minimum but they look well made and I'm hoping to get some good use out of them!

Here's a pic from the Orvis site.....
[Linked Image]

Biden's most truthful quote ever came during his first press conference, 03/25/21.
Drum roll please...... "I don't know, to be clear." and THAT is one promise he's kept!!!
GB1

T
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
T
From the pic, they look to be a well rounded selection. Over the last 30+ years, I have tied and or used everyone of those except the Club Sandwich. I'm just not into foam flies but I have seen folks use them very effectively. If you are going to tie your own, that selection would also serve as a good set of models.
Either way, looks good.

B
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
B
Tie on that adams parachute with the copper john as a dropper and hold on ...... (with some tippet tie onto the hook bend of the adams, about 14" length of tippet, and tie on the copper john)

The elkwing and stimulater drys are awesome also ....

Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other the person to die ......

"When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, "I used everything you gave me."

B
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
B
Like Troutfly I have tied all but the clubhouse,can't get into foam flies.The Stimulator is one of my faves for fishing cutthroats on the eastern slopes creeks and streams here.I tie it with rubber legs and get more strikes on those.

N
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
N
Originally Posted by troutfly