Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
S
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
S
I have been using Easton Axis arrows the past several years and have been happy except for having the shaft ends splinter when shooting small game heads or blunts stump shooting while backpack hunting. With some shafts breaking (one on my first Elk this fall, a 335 P&Y), or being lost shooting grouse, etc. I need to replace. I bought the Easonts when purchasing my first bow, so I have no experience with any other shafts. Looking for input on the best (toughest, most accurate) arrow for hunting. Cost is not an issue.

Application is Elk and Mule Deer.

Shooting Mathews Drenalin, 30 inch draw, 70 lbs with 100gr tips.

Thanks in advance for your input

GB1

R
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
R
I'm a trad guy not a compound shooter, so can't be too specific, but brand wise, I don't think there is any real accuracy difference between them. Accuracy is a matter of proper tuning, form, practice and what's between the shooters ears. As far as toughness is concerned, I've had good luck with the Carbon Express and Arrow Dynamics shafts. That said, I'm shooting some Gold Tips at the moment and expect them to hold up as well. You might consider footing your arrows, gluing a short (1-2") piece of aluminum shaft over the point end of the shaft, it keeps the insert from being driven back and splintering the shaft. It helps, but won't entirely prevent breakage. Hit something solid or a hard glancing shot and any shaft will suffer.

W
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
W
Easton ACC 3-60.
End search.

H
Campfire Tracker
Online Content
Campfire Tracker
H
"Easton ACC 3-60"

Probaby the answer to best! I liked alot the Carbon Express Terminator Selects. The straight and heavy ones, not the junk at Walmart. They discontinued them. Cabelas sells their brand of carbon for a great price. I think Beeman makes them with pretty good specs.

Good Shooting!
T
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
T