Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
D
Campfire Member
Campfire Member
D
All I can say is that I studied the Civil War - or as my Southern friends calls it - The War of Northern Aggression.
The south's wanting to succeed from the Union had a greater role in developing the animosity that started the war more then slavery.

What we need to remember was that in the 1860's people probably only had about a 4th grade education and that it didn't matter to the average person why we were fighting a war, just that our country called us to serve.

When people got around to writing the history books they needed a reason to say - this is why we went to war and the ending was that "the Moral of the story was" that it was wrong to own slaves.

We can all understand that it was wrong to own slaves, but the truth was that the slaves were better off being enslaved and taken care of by the plantation owners then being freed and not having a job or a income or anyone to take care of them.

The easiest analogy I can give you is coal mining.
The BR&P coal company owned the town that I live in and many of the small towns in Western Pennsylvania.
The mine owners would tell you that anyone caught mistreating a mule would be fired immediately and anyone that put a mule in danger would also be fired.
The reason why the mine owners did not care about the miners welfare was because they had to pay for the mules.
Coal miners were a dime a dozen and if one of them got hurt - it didn't cost them anything to replace them.

The two things that happened at the start of the war was that the attacks of armory's such as Ft Sumter and Harpers Ferry caused problems for both sides.
The north put injunctions against the south and blocked all their ports which did not allow them to sell their goods and wares. The north was industrialized and could mass produce goods and materials needed for the war.