Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
E
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
E
I have a used computer. Someone else wants it. I do not want my info stored therin to become public. What can I do to erase it entirely? An no, I do not trust the computer stores not to do a little browsing before wiping it clean.

GB1

M
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
M
Darrins Boot and Nuke or pull the HD drive out and physicaly destroy it, inform the new owner they will need to buy a new drive.

MtnHtr

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
I'm no expert but and others may have much better advice than me...

I've heard good things about the free software Hard Disk Scrubber - just make sure to check "heavy scrub" as an option.

First, you'd have to delete all the files you don't want recovered.
Scrubber would then see that as free space and "wipe" it

you can download it here

http://www.summitcn.com/download2.htm#scrub

If you want to wipe the entire drive, then you'd most likely need to boot from a CD or disk that would provide you access to the entire hard drive. A free program that does this is

LSoft Technologies' Active@ KillDisk

I'm not sure how easy it would be to use.

have you paid your dues, can you moan the blues, can you bend them guitar strings
E
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
E
I'm mostly concerned about financial data, id theft etc.. Have you guys actually used these products? Can you give a first hand recommendation?

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
Originally Posted by eclectic
I'm mostly concerned about financial data, id theft etc.. Have you guys actually used these products? Can you give a first hand recommendation?
The only sure way is to physically destroy your hard drive. DBN and others rely on "overwrite" technology, IIRC. They highly tout it as being the same method the NSA and other like entities use. I think there is still some chance of recovery.

IC B2

C
Campfire Outfitter
Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
C