Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
I am having the Devil of a time keeping the outward appearance of my Bushmaster to my liking. The matte finish is difficult to keep in a uniform manner. It seems to dry at different rates in regard to the oil giving it a mottles appearance. In addition to that, despite my best efforts at wiping it clean there is a constant seepage of oil out of all openings (trigger, safety, mag release, etc.) I see the pictures you guys post of your rifles and they have a clean, sleek appearance.

On my other rifles I like to keep a thin, almost imperceptible film of oil on them. I'm still learning on this thing.

Alan

Food is at the core of Hunting and Fishing - Rebecca Gray

GB1

M
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
M
I don't sweat the lube seepage. It just goes with the territory.

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
I use grease, cuts down on seepage.

R
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
R
mottle and seepage don't open the groups up any.....

Remember its a combat rifle to start with, not a show piece.

I know thats not what you wanted to hear though.

And FWIW I don't oil the outside of the recievers and never have.

We can keep Larry Root and all his idiotic blabber and user names on here, but we can't get Ralph back..... Whiskey Tango Foxtrot, over....
TC1 Offline
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I see the pictures you guys post of your rifles and they have a clean, sleek appearance.

Pictures hide a lot. All my AR's leak like an AMF Harley Davidson. grin

Terry

IC B2

Originally Posted by FTR_Shooter
I use grease, cuts down on seepage.

Ain't Gun Slick great?

F
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
F
I have no clue, I use TW-25b.

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular