Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
E
Ed_T Offline OP
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
E
I have been building stoves since 1974. I designed the current version of the Kifaru stove in 2001 and built them for Kifaru until a couple years ago.

I have been playing around with roll-up stoves for about 5-6 years. Just over a year ago I posted these pictures of a stainless roll-up:

[Linked Image]

It's been a fun project and goes well with my weight purging quest on my gear.

In the past year I have built a number of prototypes but kept coming back to this basic design with a few improvments. When I finally had it where I wanted, I took the plunge and built the stove from titanium.

[Linked Image]

A few of the changes I made were to go from the 4 spring attachment to a more secure 3 turnbuckle attachment.

Another feature I wanted was to have a modular stove. In another words, I wanted a stove that I could switch out long and short bodies depending on the shelter I was using as well as the temperatures expected.

The image is of a 12" body.

[Linked Image]

This is a 22" body

[Linked Image]

Another thing I wanted was to have maximum contact for heat transfer depending on the cook pot I am using, so I built the support rails with a narrow and a wide position.

This is the narrow with an MSR Titan Kettle

[Linked Image]

Wide with a Snow Peak 1400

[Linked Image]

To switch between the long and short bodies all the needs to be changed out are 2 support rails and a cable

[img]http://i597.photobucket.com/albums/tt56/runsmtns/TiStove8.jpg[/img]

The 12 stove for transport can just fold the support rails back

[img]http://i597.photobucket.com/albums/tt56/runsmtns/TiStove5.jpg[/img]

For the long stove, the support rails are removed and stored inside the rolled stove body and pipe.

Another image of the 22" with 3 cook pots

[img]http://i597.photobucket.com/albums/tt56/runsmtns/TiStove7.jpg[/img]

The weights for the stoves are 12 ounces for the 12" and 17 ounces for the 22"