Print Thread
Hop To
M
Maxx Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
M
Are they a must have for a 21 day full bag safari? Is an illuminated scope also a must have?

Thanks

GB1

M
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
M
I have not hunted 21 days but have hunted multiple 15 day safaris. I like detachable rings primarily because I like to remove the scope during travel. Of course it quickly gives you the option of iron sights.

I successfully hunted leopard earlier this year and used a VXIII Leupold and do not even own an illuminated reticle scope.

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I had a set of QD Warne rings, on my Ruger No. 1, for my Zim hunt last week. Neccessary?, No, Handy?, Yes. Can't comment on the illuminated scope, never used one. However, I don't think it is neccessary either.

maddog

Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
I do this for a living and I don't own an illuminated scope. I've seen about 5 hunters in 20 years use them. So clearly not needed.

As far as the rings go, I have QDs on my 375, But not on my 30/06. Depends on the cartridge and your reasons. Are you truly going to hunt with open sights? Are you seriously going to pack multiple scopes? If yes then QDs are great. If not then mount Leupold dual dovetail rings and never worry about rings again.

With those rings you would likely have to destroy your scope in order to knock it out of alignment even a little bit.

www.huntingadventures.net
Are you living your life, or just paying bills until you die?
When you hit the pearly gates I want to be there just to see the massive pile of dead 5hit at your feet. ( John Peyton)
G
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
G
I have not had the pleasure of an African hunt yet, but all the rifles I have, save the double rifles are outfitted w/ QD rings both Talley and Warne's.
Peelin' a scope off and walkin' and shootin' w/ sticks is one of my fav. pastimes here on the farm.

Gunner

Trump Won!
IC B2

B
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
B