Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
G
I have some lathe and mill experience, but, plan on taking some classes on barrel work and clambering etc. Wondering what you guys might suggest for decent lathe and mill for hobby gunsmithing. Looked at some Grizzy models, just wondering if there are other units to look at. Thanks in advance!

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Your budget will determine a lot. That said, I had a Clausing 12x48 (high school surplus) and 'upgraded' to the Grizzly Gunsmith lathe. For a mill, I have a Bridgeport that I 'stole' a few years ago.

I never thought I'd grow up to be a grumpy old man, but I did, and I'm killin' it.
B
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
B
You sure you didn't downgrade?

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
Originally Posted by butchlambert1

We old farts born in the 40's think alike.

Survivor of the 13th Original Colony, I escaped on December 17, 1968.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Originally Posted by Cabriolet

We old farts born in the 40's think alike.

Considering the Clausing was a high school surplus purchase, and had been beat to 'chit' and wouldn't hold a tolerance, the Grizzly was an upgrade. Just playing with the Clasuing one day after I'd purchased it, I turned a length of cold rolled. By the time I'd run the cutter a foot or so, the piece looked more like a screw than a smooth turning. Nothing was tight on that lathe, nor could it be tightened up. That said, the Grizzly was an upgrade.

I never thought I'd grow up to be a grumpy old man, but I did, and I'm killin' it.
IC B2

G
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
G