Hop To
#605085 10/09/05
N
notamos Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
N
I'm new to the world of lapping & am wondering if some of you could give me tips/recommendations/etc.

I recently purchased some Talley Lightweight *Aluminum* rings and a Sinclair 1" lapping kit (came w/ the lapping rod, handle, and the compound - which I believe was 280-grit).

I began lapping the rings & it looked like I got a nice pattern, with about 80% contact. I cleaned up the rings w/ rubbing alcohol & wiped all (or so I thought) the residue away. The scope fit *really* nice into the rings but then the problems surfaced. It appears the some of the compound/shavings stuck around (maybe in the pores?) and it scratched the crap out of the scope when I slid it back to adjust for the eye relief. I didn't have the rings tight at all. They left a silver "residue" in the finish of the scope.

Did I do something wrong w/ the lapping? Maybe you can't lap aluminum rings b/c they hold on to the compound b/c it's harder than the aluminum? How do you clean these things up after lapping? Will this happen w/ steel rings?

Any tips/ideas are appreciated.

-robert

GB1

P
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
P
Sorry to hear about your problem. I've used the Sinclair rod and compound for years, and never had that happen. First thing I'd do is contact Sinclair. They have knowledgeable folks on staff, and great customer service.

Paul

Stupidity has its way, while its cousin, evil, runs rampant.
D
DMB Offline
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
I have a Sinclair Lapping Bar which I've used for many ring lapping jobs. I haven't experienced the problem you mention. I have both the 1" and 30mm lapping bars, and lapped about two dozen sets of rings, for myself and friends.
To be honest, and too the point, it sounds like the rings weren't completely clean after the lap job.