Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Campfire Outfitter
OP Offline
Campfire Outfitter
John, I don't think I have read any comments from you concerning the Lee Collet Die.

I bought a few a while ago, and really just started to seriously use them. Although they seem to lack high quality (materials seem a little cheap compared to my Redding Dies), they sure seem to work with little muss and fuss. No lube is certainly a bonus, as is the price. I would love to see Redding come out with a similar design.

Your take?

Faith and love of others knows no mileage nor bounds. That's simply the way it is.
dogzapper

After the game is over, the king and the pawn go into the same box.
Italian Proverb

GB1

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Thanks for posting this. I started playing with these dies this season. I find a lot to like about them. My one concern is the bullet seating tension is pretty modest. I haven't been able to push the bullets deeper with my fingers, but the slight tension makes me wonder about the wisdom of using these dies for hunting rounds. (I know some folks turn the collet down .001" and that you can order undersized collets from Lee.) I'll be interested in following this thread.

Al

Spend your life wisely.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Al, I had a set in .35Whelen that never gripped the bullet enough. Bought another set of dies.

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Originally Posted by schoolmarm
Al, I had a set in .35Whelen that never gripped the bullet enough. Bought another set of dies.

I have several, and they seem to vary just a bit from cartridge to cartridge in "feel" when I seat bullets. The one for my 7x57 feels really modest. Right now I'm thinking about just going back to my Redding FL 7x57 die that is adjusted to bump the shoulder back one or two thousandths. But it is nice to skip the lubing!

Al

Spend your life wisely.
E
efw Offline
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
E