Print Thread
Hop To
L
Lhook7 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
L
I have a cow permit for WY elk unit 11. I did quite a bit of pre-season scouting and decided to hunt in the Sand Lake area. This weekend I hunted two and a half days and did not see a single cow. I did have a bull at 15 yards broadside looking away from me; very exciting as this was my first elk hunt! I also saw a couple of other bulls, but not a single cow.

When I was packing up camp today I spoke with a couple who had exactly the same experience, four bulls, no cows, and they had cow tags. They have more experience than me and they thought the cows may have already started to move into lower elevations. Does this sound right? It makes sense to me, but again, I am new to elk hunting.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

GB1

Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
No they have not left the forest. It hot,dry, and a full moon. You just have to go find them,

If you cann't stand my spelling use the ingore feature.

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
Aliens didn't beam them up. Go find them. Down lower in 11 means the Wick. Did you see any out there in the sage in this frigging heat?

Campfire Member
Campfire Member
Pfft! Typical. Have a cow tag in your pocket and you have to elbow the bulls out of the way. Look in dark timber in the coolest places you can find. They will turn up eventually. Like wyoelk notes, elk are not generally sunbathers.

W
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
W
I hate 11. Biggest bull I have seen in my life and I had to shoot the cow standing next to him.

Lhook... Timber. Hunt harder. It's a postage stamp area.

IC B2

L
Lhook7 Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
L
Thanks for the advice. I think I will try the same area this weekend.