Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
160user Online Content OP
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I finally bucked up and bought the rifle I have been dreaming of owning for 20+ years. I have always wanted a model 70 in 300 H&H and finally bought one. Got it earlier this week and took it to the range last night. What a doll to shoot.......until I looked at the brass. The rifle had the (rare) factory stainless barrel without sights and some KNOTHEAD has rechambered it. What a let down.
I called the dealer I bought it from (on-line) and he was super and I am confident that we will work it out but I was so dissapointed!

I am always looking for factory wood stocks!
GB1

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
To.....what? WBY??

Originally Posted by raybass
I try to stick with the basics, they do so well. Nothing fancy mind you, just plain jane will get it done with style.
Originally Posted by Pharmseller
You want to see an animal drop right now? Shoot him in the ear hole.

BSA MAGA
Campfire Outfitter
OP Online Content
Campfire Outfitter
I am not sure if it is Winchester or Weatherby. It has a very steep shoulder angle on the case like the WBY but I was thinking the weatherby case was quite a but longer.

B
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
B
I wonder if it has been "AI'd"???

I try to stick with the basics, they do so well. Nothing fancy mind you, just plain jane will get it done with style.

BSA MAGA
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
Yeah, a bunch of .300 H&H Model 70's were rechambered during the 1950's and 60's, when everybody wanted all that fantastic extra velocity. Many ended up as .300 Weatherbys but others were rechambered to various "improved" wildcats.

Which is why M70 .300 H&H's usually bring a little more money these days, even though there were quite a few made. Rechambering was common enough to reduce the supply.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck