Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
kallen Offline OP
Campfire Member
OP Offline
Campfire Member
I think I need to get a new gun.

I don't have anything between a .270 WSM and a .22 long rifle and I'd like to get more serious about the varmint/predator hunting and have a all around low recoil rifle to enjoy.

I envision a truck rifle that would be a walking varminter style. Playing around yesterday I borrowed a friends Savage/Stevens model 200 in .223 and headed to the range. He got this rifle for $300 and he thought it would be a good bang around rifle for me as well. I bought the cheapest 55 grain ammo I could find. I suspect the crappiest ammo since it was all that was left on the shelf. My first group was 1/2 inch! Amazing! I shot another three groups and they got larger and larger ending at 1 inch. I suspect it was from the barrel heating up.

With that I realized I have no experience of having or shooting a rifle that I can have a longer range session that isn't ended by the rifle getting warm and loosing accuracy. Currently I own no heavy barreled rifles and admittedly have no experience if something with a heavy barrel would allow more shots before losing accuracy. I know a heavy barrel offers other benefits of shooting accuracy but I'd like to do a little more shooting and a little less waiting for my rifle to cool. Maybe it was a coincidence that the groups got larger as I shot. I'm just used to shooting 3 rounds and waiting when shooting for groups so don't know any better.

GB1

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
Every buy or build is a compromise, and you're seeing that here.

I used to be a big varmint barrel fan, but for a carry/calling gun, no more. Off the bench, prairie dogging, close to the truck, of course, but not for packing.

Your compromise here would be to get a varmint gun with the larger barrel, and cut and crown it back to 20-22". Still not as svelte as a sporter, but doable.

Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
That's good advice aalf