Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
Originally Posted by renegade50
pt barnum said it a long time ago...........

that rifle has been modified
and i bet the winchester custom shop never had anything to do with the modifications on that rifle

I am very impressed with the knowledge shown in the comments, which indicate real expertise.

I am NOT an expert, know little enough about 70s and only own 3 or 4 pre-'64s, plus some Classic New Havens, but let me add something from my personal knowledge, going back a few years.

Back in the 1980s, there were original, new in the box pre-'64s being marketed at the gun shows. I've seen tables with as many as a dozen for sale at a time. It was easy enough to accept that as credible at the time, because those dealers were snapping them up from hardware stores and anywhere else that they had been languishing in old inventory. Back in those days, 70s were less in demand since they were a little more pricey than other options, and so it was not so hard to find them unsold in small town stores.

Since those were NIB, complete with hang tags, etc., it was fairly easy to acquire knowledge of what the key identification marks were. I can well imagine that many of those rifles are still untouched in the box and salted away by collectors. It is harder to acquire that knowledge today.

However, note that at that very same time, 30 years ago, 70s were getting more desirable and getting to the stage where they might be dressed up and sold as something they weren't. Want a very rare caliber, like 9mm? Some would pay top dollar. Where money is to be made, there is temptation to create fakes.

Folks, I personally was a guest in a small shop back then where a guy was, uh, "cleaning up" 70s. He had stocks, barrels, you name it, even hang tags and boxes.