Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
bea175,

I'm not exactly young myself, since I started shooting centerfires in the mid-1960's. Used to clean 'em religiously every 20-50 rounds, but in the 1990's started experimenting with how long they'd go without cleaning and found many would go a LONG time without losing any accuracy.

Things got even better when the Ramshot ball powders appeared 12 years ago, and with Dyna Bore Coat they improved again. Though that one .223 never has been DBC'd. I did fire six fire-lapping rounds through it when new, to smooth out the factory throat, but it's just one of those bores that doesn't foul, even though it's one of the supposedly terrible Remington factory barrels.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
GB1

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
Bad barrel from the factory these days are over rated in my opinion and they will now shoot with a lot of custom barrels. The same goes for Factory Ammo . As far as cleaning barrels i have done it so much over the years i just consider it a part of shooting. You should attend the Campfire Boar Hunt here in TN and meet some of us old farts

Bob

A Doe walks out of the woods today and says, that is the last time I'm going to do that for Two Bucks.
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
I have been thinking about the boar hunt, partly because I already know some of the old farts who go. Will see how my schedule works out, as I have a rifle or two that deserves to kill a pig.

“Montana seems to me to be what a small boy would think Texas is like from hearing Texans.”
John Steinbeck
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
More of a Party than a actual Hunt

A Doe walks out of the woods today and says, that is the last time I'm going to do that for Two Bucks.
M
Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
M
That's what it sounds like!

John Steinbeck
IC B2

Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana