Print Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
D
Campfire Ranger
Campfire Ranger
D
Originally Posted by docdb
I have a good friend that has just decided that Atlanta is too much for him. He's a wonderful guy, and the best neurosurgeon I've ever met. He'd gotten a position (don't know the details) in Casper, WY and in passing yesterday asked me if I would like to go with him (I'm an ENT doc). As I sat in traffic on the way in this morning, and listened to the bumping rap music in the car next to me, I started day dreaming. I don't have to live like this, but Casper.....don't know a thing about. Any ideas?
Don

Somebody suggested you PM eh76, who lives in that area, but eh is taking a hiatus from the 'Fire right now. If you want to get some straight dope from him, shoot me a PM and I'll see if I can get you in touch with him.

I've been hunting in WY for about 10 years--every year but this one--and I would say it's about as good a place to live as you could find in America, along with TX, MT, ID, and AK. Great outdoors opportunities abound. Medical opportunities are likewise good.

I actually considered moving to take a job as a family doc/ ER doc in a town not far from Casper when I was on the job search that landed me in west Texas. I opted for TX for a number of reasons, but WY and a job in Billings were #2 and #3 on my list when push came to shove. In terms of the medical practice climate, Wyoming is fairly good. Reimbursement wasn't as good as some other states I was looking at in 2010, but who knows what it's like there now with Obamacare coming down the pike. But cost of living is quite low there. Medical malpractice climate is quite good there. And unemployment is low, so you don't get much Medicaid/uninsured traffic, which is ALWAYS a nice feature.