Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
L
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
I am new to muzzleloading,, guy who sold it to me told me I could use pellets if I use some powder also? has anyone ever thought about this in the barrel, like 20 grains of powder and 1 50grain pellets? barrel only

GB1

L
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
reason I bring this up,, is because I have a 45cal inline (never shot) with that rifle came a bunch of 50grain pellets,, the guy who sold me the lyman 50cal said to use some loose powder to help ignite the pellets,,

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
It makes no sense. Especially, for a flintlock. If you're going to use 20gr of loose powder. Why not make the whole load loose powder?

Flintlocks like real black powder. They'll perform better.

Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a hunting license and that's pretty close.
L
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
to use the 50grain pellets up,, and I kinda liked the idea of the premeasured pellets,,, question is do you think it work?

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
I don't think it's the hot tip, but you can give it a try. What are you going to use for powder for the 20gr prime, and what will you use in the pan for powder?

Money can't buy you happiness, but it can buy you a hunting license and that's pretty close.
IC B2

L
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
pan ffffg for sure,, since I have to buy some powder (ihave none),, I was thinking blackhorn

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
Doubt you will ignite that BH209 in a flintlock.

There is no way to coexist no matter how many bumper stickers there are on Subaru bumpers!

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M
Absolutely, BH 209 will not work as a prime. It needs a hot 209 primer to fire. You should buy BP 3F, and use it as a prime for the main charge, and in the pan.

L
Campfire Greenhorn
OP Offline
Campfire Greenhorn
L
mauser thanks for the idea,,

C