Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
O
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
O
I would appreciate hearing your opinions (based on experience) about the suitability of a well made Damascus blade for a knife that would be used regularly. I have no experience with Damascus bug have my eye on a beautifully made folder. Thanks for your thoughts.

Dave

GB1

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
My thoughts: there is a great variation in the quality of damascus steels ranging from exceptionally good to extremely poor. You'll want to speak with or at least investigate the knife maker with regards to his steel selection.

I have built knives with cheap crap made in Pakistan, the blanks are cheap and they make for nice gifts but I wouldn't carry one. Letter openers, cheese cutters, and like, are acceptable uses for this cheap steel.

C
Campfire Regular
Campfire Regular
C
damascus is certainly beautiful & some CUSTOM FORGERS HAVE MADE THE MOST fantastic blades in the history of the world.my exspearance with most factory offerings was'nt very positive but a few custom forgers have produced blades that cut very well. i do'nt think anyone has produced a blade that can surpass the cutting endurance of the of the really good custom blades.however the casual user should be very satisfied with the good custom gang.cranky72

Campfire Kahuna
Campfire Kahuna
I bought these a few years back. I kept one, gave the others to my Brothers.
They have used them constantly. Neither are knife guys, and don't know any better than to just abuse a knife with all sorts of daily chores.
So far, both of those are holding up just fine. Mine has been taken much better care of. smile
David Winston made the steel, Jason made the knives.
[Linked Image]

Sam......

O
Campfire Tracker
OP Offline
Campfire Tracker
O
Thank you.

d.

IC B2

M
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
M