Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
P
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
Basically I'm a beginner and I realize lapua, nosler, and Norma are probably a lot better than Winchester and Remington. But are they really worth it for the price over Remington and Winchester brand?

Tater
GB1

M
Campfire 'Bwana
Campfire 'Bwana
M
The answer depends on what you're shooting it in and what you're trying to accomplish.

For example, a friend's Rem. M7 in 308 won't resolve fine differences in ammunition the way my 40X or 5R Milspec will.

Last edited by mathman; 01/27/14.
P
Campfire Regular
OP Offline
Campfire Regular
P
Well I'm reloading for hunting rifles 243,270,280,30-06,25-06,7mm-08

Tater
V
Campfire Greenhorn
Campfire Greenhorn
V
For hunting rifles I say no they are not worth it and properly prepped you can do just fine with Winchester and Remington. You may get more life from the higher priced brass but that's debatable.

Curiosity killed the cat, But for a while I was a suspect.
Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
For those purposes, Remchester will be fine. For those of us with the same requirements who are just a bit OCD, we use (at least I do) Lapua. And brass can make a difference - I have a pair of .260 Rems that taught me that. Winchester .243 brass necked up didn't shoot worth a darn and it was done on a K&M mandrel in a Coax press. However, .260 Rem. Remington brass and .260 Rem Lapua brass in the same guns with the same loads produced 1/2 MOA groups.

Selmer

"Daddy, can you sometime maybe please go shoot a water buffalo so we can have that for supper? Please? And can I come along? Does it taste like deer?"
- my 3-year old daughter smile
IC B2

Campfire Tracker
Campfire Tracker
I wish Lapua made 7mm-08 brass.

If we live long enough, we all have regrets. But the ones that nag at us the most are the ones in which we know we had a choice.

Doug
D
Campfire Outfitter
Campfire Outfitter
D
Originally Posted by lastround
I wish Lapua made 7mm-08 brass.

Agreed!